ICOC XII: A Walk Around Dealers’ Row

I’ve been a little lax.  ICOC XII in Stockholm ended June 19, 2011.

And Danny Shaffer, of Hali,

and, Ivan Soenderholm, of Jozan,


have long-since had their ICOC XII photos up.

So what follows here may be somewhat redundant, but I’ll do it anyway.

I’ll only comment about things that occur to me as I assemble these photos.

Mostly these are images I took walking around the dealers’ fair at ICOC XII.

I like old fragments.  Sometimes they can be had for lower prices.  Not this one.

Annette Granlund, headed the local organizing committee that presented ICOC XII.  This is the photo of her that appeared in the conference brochure.

And early on, I caught Dennis Dodds, the President of ICOC.

Dennis is smiling here, in part because,  unlike the night before opening in Istanbul, he had not had to spend until 4 am personally hanging an exhibition.

Let’s do one more “important person” photo here.

This is Hans Blix, visible in recent international news, because he headed, first, the effort to discover whether Saddam Hussein had “weapons of mass distruction,” and more recently, the investigation of the seeming drive of Iran to produce nuclear weapons.  Dr. Blix spoke elegantly and humorously as part of the opening ceremonies for ICOC XII.  He is standing in front of a favorite rug that he loaned to one of the conference exhibitions.

Back to dealer fair rugs and textiles.

One dealer had two chairs upholstered in parts of Tekke pile bag faces.

He said that he had six such chairs and an accompanying table.

I think my near-neighbor, here in Washington, D.C., Ali Aydin, was the only dealer actually living in the U.S. who was “set up” at ICOC XII.

Flash!!!:  I have been informed from two directions that Hagop Manoyan, a prominent dealer living in NYC, was a major exhibitor at ICOC XII. 

Sorry, should have checked the dealer listing.

I caught Michael Craycraft in a condition of unexpected nudity.

He was, of course, famous, for years, for almost never having been photographed without a baseball cap.

I wear hats a lot now for similar reasons,

and thought for a while that I might have to serve in Michael’s place in this respect at ICOC XII.

It was a relief to see him, later, in his more usual mode.

Michael and I talked a little about the fact that I have in the past been able to buy good material from him reasonably, but that I no longer can.   He claimed that it is largely the fault of the depressed value of the U.S. dollar in relation to the euro.  There’s something to that, of course, but I think it is also a matter of the large number of euros that are being asked by many dealers nowadays.

I am a sucker for compartmented designs.

Notice the “lappet” devices in this piece are placed inside the field and point inward.  Unusual.

The piece above is one of the prettiest salt bags I saw.

Going out the door, there was a Swedish band playing traditional Swedish band music on traditional Swedish instruments.

Hope you have enjoyed this little interlude from the dealers’ fair at ICOC XII in Stockholm.

Regards,

R. John Howe

Comments are closed.

